About the Mary Tucker Thorp College Professorship

The Mary Tucker Thorp College Professorship is awarded each academic year to a full professor with at least six years of service at Rhode Island College who has demonstrated excellence in teaching along with excellence in scholarship and/ or excellence in professional and collegial service. The professorship honors the contributions of Mary Tucker Thorp, whose illustrious career at the college spanned the time period of 1926–1967.

Candidates for the Thorp College Professorship are evaluated by a college-wide committee composed of faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Science, the Feinstein School of Education and Human Development, the School of Management, the School of Nursing, the School of Social Work, and the Adams Library. The appointment is made by the college president.

Selection and appointment criteria include demonstrated excellence in teaching along with excellence in scholarship and/or excellence in service.

Funds to support the Thorp College Professorship were provided by a generous bequest in the will of Mary Tucker Thorp and are held in the Tucker Thorp Fund, which is administered by the Rhode Island College Foundation.  Starting in 2004-05 the Thorp Professorship became a college-wide award.

Previous Mary Tucker Thorp College Professors:

Year Recipient
2015-16 Susan Abbotson, English
2013-14 Pamela Irving Jackson, Sociology
2011-12 Kathryn Kalinak, English
2008-09 Meredith McMunn, English
2007-08 Ying Zhou, Mathematics and Computer Science
2006-07 Ronald Dufour, History
2005-06 Maureen Reddy, English
2004-05 Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work

Prior to 2004, there were three Mary Tucker Thorp awards, one each in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, School of Social Work, and the Feinstein School of Education and Human Development. The FAS Thorp Award was for outstanding scholarly or creative activity, the FSEHD Thorp Award was for distinguished teaching, and the SSW Thorp Award rotated among outstanding scholarship, distinguished teaching, and excellent service.

Previous Thorp Award Winners

Year Recipient
2003-04 Jeannine Olson, History

James Barton, Elementary Education
Jayashree Nimmagadda, Social Work

2001-02 Cathleen M. Calbert, English

Peter S. Allen, Anthropology
Karen S. Castagno, Health and Physical Education
Daniel Weisman, Social Work


Barbara A. Schapiro, English
Felicia Wilczenski, Education
Julie E. Wollman-Bonilla, Education


Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban, Anthropology
C. David Brell, Education
Patricia Medeiros-Landurand, Education


Richard A. Lobban, Anthropology
William J. Oehlkers, Education


Yael Avissar, Biology
Carolyn P. Panofsky, Education


Thomas E. Malloy, Biology
Sharon M. Fennessey, Education


Peter Meyer, Physical Sciences
Patricia A. Cordeiro, Elementary Education
Elizabeth H. Rowell, Elementary Education


Stephen E. Fisher, Art
Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work


Curtis K. Lafollette, Arts and Sciences
Joan C. Bloom, Education
Ellsworth A. Starring, Education


Amritjit Singh, English
John J. Gleason, Education


Judith L. Stillman, Music
Mary Ann Bromley, Education

1989-90 Edythe L. Anthony, Biology
Judith H. Dimeo, Education
1988-89 Terence E. Hays, Anthropology
Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work
1987-88 J. Stanley Lemons, History
Joan I. Glazer, Education
1986-87 Harriet Brisson, Art
A. Anthony Antosh, Special Education
1985-86 Charles J. Marzzacco, Arts and Sciences

William H. Robinson, Arts and Sciences
Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work
Victoria S. Lederberg, Education
Ezra L. Stieglitz, Elementary Education


S. Salman Wasti, Arts and Sciences
Rose C. Merenda, Education
S. Scott Mueller, Social Work


Sally J. Marks, Arts and Sciences
Marilyn G. Eanet, Education
Joan I. Glazer, Education
Clyde C. Slicker, Education


Alene F. Silver, Arts and Sciences
Richard L. Dickson, Education
James J. Rubovits, Education
Paul V. Sherlock, Special Education


Lillian D. Bloom, Arts and Sciences
Thomas F. Lavery, Education
Sidney P. Rollins, Education
Robert T. Rude, Elementary Education


Nancy Sullivan, English
Joan I. Glazer, Education
Anne K. Petry, Education
Sheri L. Smith, Education

Page last updated: Thursday, March 31, 2016