RIC to host NCAA softball regionals

The Dayna A. Bazar Softball Complex on the campus of Rhode Island College has been selected as one of eight predetermined regional sites for the 2010 NCAA Division III Softball Championship.

Eight teams will compete at six regional sites and six teams will compete at two regional sites. The eight-team regionals will be held May 13-17, and the six-team regional will be held May 14-17. All regional sites will use a double-elimination format.

The finals, hosted by the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, will be held May 21-25 at Carson Park in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

This will be the third time in four years (2008, ’07) that Rhode Island College will host a regional. The Anchorwomen won the New England region in 2008 and 2007, advancing to the national championships.

Softball head coach Maria Morin’s team is currently 18-5 overall.