RIC Undergrads Spend Summer in SURF 

Thirty-six Rhode Island College students will culminate their summer research experience at the 7th Annual Rhode Island Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows (SURF) Conference on Aug. 1 at the University of Rhode Island in Kingston.

SURF is a highly competitive program designed to increase research opportunities for undergraduates. Students spend 10 weeks conducting research in laboratories and in the field on topics including Alzheimer’s treatment and climate change, while mentored by laboratory faculty.

“These students are the backbone of the burgeoning technology and knowledge-based economy in Rhode Island,” said Jeffrey Ulricksen, Rhode Island IDeA Network of Biomedical Reserach Excellence (RI-INBRE) program assistant at the URI College of Pharmacy.

The conference will feature presentations from undergraduate students at several Rhode Island colleges and universities. Students will present their summer research findings to peers and the larger community.

Co-sponsored by RI-INBRE and the Rhode Island NSF Experimental Program (EPSCoR), the conference will be held at the URI College of Pharmacy and Center for Biotechnology & Life Sciences. Though registration is now closed for the event, walk-ins are welcome for the conference’s poster session, which begins at 9:30 a.m.

More than 100 posters will be presented in projects focused on biomedical, environmental, behavioral and life sciences. More than 300 faculty, students and administrators from RIC, Brown University, Providence College, Roger Williams University, Salve Regina University, Bryant University, Rhode Island School of Design and the Community College of Rhode Island are expected to attend.

With this summer’s class, SURF has engaged more than 800 students since 2001.

A list of RIC SURF participants follows:

RI-INBRE students:

Saadet Alparslan

Emely Bueno

Stephanie Chauvin

David Robinson

Cristina Encarnacion

Gary Marqus

Nathan Felkel

Kristin Wilkinson

Eric Vaught

Jose Hurtado

Saman Nayyab

Donnell Van Noppen

Victoria Themuda

Daniel DeSimone

Evan McCabe

Steven Berardinelli

Bopha Chan

Lisbeth Avalos

Silvia Yanez

Sara Bilida

Danielle Lafond

Maeghan Sullivan

Jacly Lata

Kayla Hersey

Nicklaus Collette

Sathiarith Chau

Jessica Hunter

Taylor Ferrare

Jacob Mattox

Emmanuel Asiedu

Lindsay Ratcliffe


RI EPSCoR students:

Megan Warburton

Nicholas Andreozzi

Joseph Burgess

Sean Grace

Joseph Guerreiro