NEASC team to visit RIC Oct. 30-Nov.2

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC), through its Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, will have an evaluation team visit Rhode Island College from Oct. 30 through Nov. 2.

The team will be headed by Sara Jayne Steen, president of Plymouth State University. Team members and their affiliations are listed below.

For the past year and a half, RIC has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation. The evaluation team will gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission the accreditation status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

The Commission on Institutions of Higher Education is one of seven accrediting commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Accreditation is voluntary and applies to the institution as a whole. The Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits approximately 240 institutions in the six-state New England region.

Rhode Island College has been accredited by the Commission since 1958 and was last reviewed in 2000. Its accreditation by NEASC encompasses the entire institution.

Founded in 1885, NEASC is the oldest regional accrediting association in the United States. Its stated mission is the establishment and maintenance of high standards for all levels of education.

Emanating from high quality standards, NEASC accreditation uses self-reflection, peer review and best practices as integral components of its assessment process and monitors the follow-up endeavors leading to continuous school/program improvement.

Headquartered in Bedford, Mass., NEASC serves more than 2,000 public and independent schools, colleges and universities in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont and 138 American/International schools around the globe.

Team chair:
Dr. Sara Jayne Steen
Plymouth State University

Team members:
Dr. Walter B. Bernstein
Vice President for Student Affairs
Western Connecticut State University

Dr. Karen C. Beyard
Professor of Educational Leadership
Central Connecticut State University

Dr. Cynthia F. Brown
Vice President of Academic Affairs
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Neal DeChillo
Dean, College of Health and Human Services
Salem State University

Ms. Bonnie D. Mitchell
Director of Library Services
Framingham State University

Mr. Kurt T. Steinberg
Vice President for Finance/COO
Massachusetts College of Art and Design

Dr. Neena Verma
Director of Institutional Research
University of Massachusetts