James A. Schaefer Book Award

This award of funds for the purchase of books and a membership in the ACM is given to a CSCI major who completed CSCI 315 at Rhode Island College for the first time within the previous calendar year and of all such students has the highest GPA in the CSCI major. If there is a tie, the award is given to the student who, in the judgment of the department, has contributed the most to the CSCI major. It is named for James A. Schaefer, who was one of the founders of the computer science program at the College in the early 1980s and served as an invaluable member of the computer science faculty until his retirement in 2008. The winners of this award are:

  • 2013 Christopher DeFazio
  • 2012 Johnathan Evon
  • 2008 Gerald Agyemang

Page last updated: Tuesday, March 4, 2014