Scholarships & Awards

John A. and Mary V. Lima Memorial Scholarship in Portuguese Studies

Spring Semester, 2012

The John A. and Mary V. Lima Memorial Scholarship Fund in Portuguese Studies will award a scholarship to one individual enrolled in Portuguese for the spring semester of 2012 in the amount of $3,300 upon satisfactory completion of the required course(s). The award is subject to the conditions and requirements of the Institute for Portuguese and Lusophone World Studies, the Rhode Island College Foundation and the John A. and Mary V. Lima Memorial Scholarship criteria as described herein.

Scope of the IPLWS Scholarship Program

Scholarships will be awarded to students who have demonstrated a commitment to and an intention to continue the study of the Portuguese language and Lusophone cultures at Rhode Island College  A limited number of scholarships, based on the availability of institutional and private funds, will be awarded to academically meritorious students who have met eligibility requirements and the criteria of the respective scholarship fund and/or donor.

Eligibility Requirements

The applicant must:

  1. have matriculated into a baccalaureate degree program at Rhode Island College;
  2. have attained and continue to maintain a cumulative GPA of a minimum of B- (2.67);
  3. have successfully completed at least 12 college credit hours;
  4. have declared a Major or Minor in Portuguese or have completed Port 113 or higher;
  5. plan to enroll and complete a higher level course in Portuguese and earning at least a grade of B in the class (3.00)

Application Requirements

The applicant must:

A. complete and submit theAdobe PDFIPWLS Scholarship Application to the IPLWS office (Sylvan R. Forman Center, Ste 201) by 6:00 pm of the deadline date;

B. submit an official college academic transcript from all colleges previously attended;

C. submit a one page typewritten (double-spaced 12 pt font) essay addressing the questions:

What motivated you to begin the study of Portuguese and what role do you anticipate the Portuguese language will play in your future?  Discuss any specific career goals for the future or any community involvement that might be pertinent to the question. What additional information would you like the Scholarship Committee to consider in evaluating your application?

D. submit 2 letters of recommendation (at least one of which is from a professional with whom the applicant has worked or from a professor in an academic setting. Letters from family members will not be accepted).

Notice of Awards

Recipients will be notified in writing by U.S. mail if selected.

Award Renewals

Scholarship awards are NOT automatically renewed. Former scholarship recipients must re-apply.

Revocation of Award

The IPWLS reserves the right to cancel any scholarship or aid awarded at any time if the applicant fails to meet the standards of academic progress, any other scholarship requirements, or falsifies information reported.

Decline Award

The IPLWS reserves the right to decline awarding a scholarship during any selection period if there are no eligible applicants or if the Scholarship Committee is unable to select a qualified recipient.

Applications must be received in the Institute Office by 6:00 p.m. on MARCH 2, 2012  with all supporting materials, i.e.

  1. completed and hand-signed application form with essay,
  2. official college transcript(s),
  3. 2 letters of recommendation.

For more information, please contact:
Marie R. Fraley, Interim Director
(401) 456-8496  or  Email:


The Prémio em Estudos Portugueses is awarded each year to a graduating senior who has distinguished himself/herself with outstanding academic achievement in Portuguese Studies at Rhode Island College. The successful recipient is nominated by the faculty of the Department of Modern Languages following a criteria established in collaboration with the donor of the prize.

Awarded in May of the academic year, the prize consists of a $200 cash award and an engraved memento provided by the Institute.


2003 - Paula Vazão Schiavone
2004 - Lisa Andrade Almeida
2005 - Elisabete Soares
2006 - Orlando Ramos
2007 - Joquebede Sança
2009 - Margaret Craveiro
2010 - Jessica Trindade

This page contains content in PDF format. You must have the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this content, click here to download it for free.

Page last updated: Friday, November 18, 2011