Majors & Programs


Minors

Minors are available in many of the above majors as well as creative writing, gerontology, Italian, jazz studies, labor studies, public history and rhetoric and writing.


Nearly half of our undergrads are in professional programs like education, nursing, and social work. The other half are in liberal arts and business programs. The college is organized into five schools.

Certificate of Undergraduate Studies (CUS)

CUS programs are primarily for undergraduate-level students, where the certificate components consist mostly of Rhode Island College undergraduate-level courses. Admission and retention requirements are significant. These certificates typically provide applied academic and/or professional training.

Certificate in Social and Human Service Assistance
Contact: Princess Metuge
401-456-9884
pmetuge@ric.edu
Eligible for federal financial aid

Gerontology
Contact: Rachel Filinson
401-456-8732
rfilinson@ric.edu

Public History
Contact: Robert Cvornyek
401-456-8039
rcvornyek@ric.edu

International Non-Governmental Organizations Studies (INGOS)
Contact: Robyn Linde
401-456-8278
rlinde@ric.edu

Nonprofit Studies
Contact: Michael Andrade
mandrade@ric.edu
Eligible for federal financial aid

Youth Services
Contact: Mary Sullivan
401-456-2799
YouthServices@ric.edu or mmsullivan@ric.edu

Certificate of Continuing Studies (CCS) Programs

Certificate of Continuing Studies (CCS) programs are also available for non-degree students, where the certificate components consist primarily of courses and/or workshops earning credits not associated with undergraduate or graduate programs at Rhode Island College, such as continuing education units (CEUs), college Outreach Program credit, etc. Admission and retention requirements for most CCS programs are minimal. These certificates typically provide professional development, vocational training, or personal enrichment.

Contact the Office of Professional Studies and Continuing Education at (401) 456-8091 or click here for more information.

Back to the top

Page last updated: Oct. 28, 2013